Size isn’t everything

Size isn’t everything

Learning how to eat less but still feel full has been a real change of mindset for me. Historically, I’ve been all for a large portion (ahem). If I see a plate that’s not filled to the brim, usually in posh restaurants, I feel short-changed.  At a former workplace, the lady in the café became known as “Bitchy Small Portions” because she didn’t pile our plate up as high as her colleague (on reflection, she was probably just following the guidance she was given – sorry Bitchy).  What we can learn from posh restaurants is that it’s quality over quantity. If you eat the right food, it tastes good and is presented well, you don’t need an excessive amount.

There must be psychological explanations for many of our eating habits and I’m fascinated by TV programmes that highlight how people’s behaviour around food can change depending on how it’s presented. For example when people are given food they believe to be low fat, they tend to eat more or if it’s free they’ll eat more.

One of the most important ways for me to keep control of my diet is to manage portions well. I am a victim of just about every sin when it comes to eating too much so I wanted to share some of my top tips for managing portion size

1.Weigh out dry ingredients 

Hands up who pours pasta into a pan willy nilly then ends up eating the whole lot? Before I checked the weight of the portions I was serving myself, I was eating 2-3 times the serving suggestion on the packet, therefore twice or three times the calories. For example, one serving of shreddies that should be around 200 calories was actually about 500!

Now I follow the recommendation on the packet or the recipe or use even less when I’m being super strict or are able to switch out carbs for extra veggies or fruit.

Take a look at the pictures below of what suggested servings (according to the packet) look like:

shreddies portion
pasta

2. Use a smaller plate or bowl

We tend to want to have a full plate or bowl so it’s obvious that using a smaller plate will help this. This also ties into my bad habit of always finishing what’s on my plate (see point 5). I like using my toddler’s bowls and a teaspoon to eat my yogurt and fruit

3. Only eat for one

Often we make family size meals or cook with the amount of food we bought e.g. a large packet of mince or a packet of 4 chicken breasts, when only two of you are eating. In our house, we need two adult portions, a small toddler portion, and the rest is spare. To stop us eating the whole lot, I now set aside any excess portions for lunch the next day or freeze them as spare toddler meals or easy meals for me when my husband is away. NB you have to set aside the spare portions BEFORE you serve up. If I’ve made a curry for four people (according to the recipe), I will literally draw 4 portion markings in the pan and scoop it out into 4 containers/ plates.

4. Switch out carbs for extra vegetables

If you’re prone to filling up your plate with rice, pasta or potatoes, try filling the space with veggies instead.  I often make a curry with lots of added vegetables and don’t have any rice. I also eat steak, chicken or fish with lots of vegetables on the side. It really doesn’t take long to get used to not having a big pile of carbs and I have honestly never felt hungry after a main meal.

The pictures below show the portions above pimped up with some fruit and veg – not so bad after all, eh?
shreddies with fruit

pasta with veg

 

5. Don’t be a dustbin!

If you’re full, you don’t have to clear your plate – or your child’s – I am so guilty of eating my toddler’s leftover pizza crusts! This is the one I find the hardest as I don’t like waste. If you’ve followed the advice above, there shouldn’t really be too much waste or leftovers but if there is, it is ok to stop. It also helps if you eat slowly so you actually know when you feel full!

I hope that helps. If you have any tips to share or have any other traps you fall into, give me a shout via the comments box or my facebook page so we can help each other.

 

This is my 18th blog entry. To follow my journey from the beginning, please click here.

Leave a comment